Gone to the dogs.

August 16, 2009

Can someone please explain the reasoning and logic behind the idea of inviting an animal to live in one’s home?

Let me get this straight – millions of human beings have animals living in their homes – animals who will willfully destroy said humans’ property, who shit, piss, puke and sleep all over said humans’ flooring.  Dogs, cats, rabbits, mice, rats, snakes, lizards – you name it.  I just don’t get it.

Hey, I find puppies and kittens as cute as anyone else with half a heart.  But to invite one of these monsters to LIVE in my house?  Shit on my old newspapers?  Eat processed food from a bowl on the floor?  I can’t imagine it.

I grew up with animals in my house, and you know what?  The dogs and cats would shit and piss and puke all over the house.  Except in one place – my bedroom.  Wanna know why?  Because I kept my bedroom door shut at all times.  Keep the fuckers out.

But I LOVE animals.  In fact, I love them so much that I don’t even eat them or anything that comes from them.  And I also love them so much that I don’t want to keep them domesticated or enslaved in any way, including for companionship.  Why would I want, for instance, to keep a bird in a cage in my house?  Because he has pretty feathers, or because he can whistle a tune on command?  That’s so fucking selfish.

Pet owners – make your case.  Are you really willing to put up with the smell of ass for the sake of some Pavlovian loyalty?  And don’t compare dogs and cats to children or I will bitch-slap you.

2 Responses to “Gone to the dogs.”

  1. Mardé Says:

    This is pretty funny, Minds. Clearly, you do have a point I think, but …. I used to be fond of cats and had one named Tibby while growing up. He was a stray and we took him in. You could say we actually saved his life. Cats don’t hack it very well on their own. After 10,000 years of domestication, the breed of domestic cat is pretty well defined as needing human support. Here’s maybe why:

    * Muezza (Arabic: مویزا) was the Prophet Muhammad’s favorite cat. The most famous story about Muezza recounts how the call to prayer was given, and as Muhammad went to put on one of his robes, he found his cat sleeping on one of the sleeves. Instead of disturbing the cat he cut off the sleeve and let him sleep. When Muhammad returned Muezza awoke and bowed down to him, and in return Muhammad stroked him three times.

    LOL
    I got this from the wiki on the history of cats:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_cats

    I don’t have a cat now or any other animal. It’s too much trouble.

  2. Minds Erased Says:

    I KNEW that religion had something to do with it! Of course! Anything lousy that’s ever happened to the world had a holy text and a phony prophet behind it. Ah well. Can’t stuff that genie back in the bottle now. Pet ownership is a multi-billion dollar industry. And the little monsters tug at our heartstrings. There ain’t no price tag on that for most!

    I must say it was kind of you to save that poor animal’s life, but you’re right – if it were not for the domestication of these poor creatures, they would not need help to begin with.


Leave a Reply

