Is truly anything possible?

November 13, 2008

I take part, when my schedule allows, in a metaphysical discussion group that meets regularly in my neck of the woods.  I enjoy these meetings, because it gives me a glimpse into the beliefs of other people – namely, people who believe in things like past lives, UFOs, “cosmic shifts”, little green men, and so on.  As you would expect, I cast my doubt around – which usually runs into resistance, but there are others (including this really funny, slightly rude guy named Dave who looks and sounds a little like Denis Leary) who share my doubts.

At the last meeting that I attended, we were speaking about things being pre-destined vs. free will.  Some people at the meeting expressed their belief that, for instance, meeting up with certain people with whom they make strong connections is no accident – that such occurrences are  predestined; I believe that things that happen in my life occur completely at random, that there is no fixed plan for me.  Others, who believe in past lives, think that we have a “soul contract” to which we agree when we enter this life from a former life.   When I begin to apply reason and logic and start questioning these theories (which, without proof, is all they are), as expected, I get all kinds of grief.  Not hostility, just some healthy bantering.  But, someone even suggested to me that I am the one who is close-minded, not open to the possibilities, that I am shutting down and not hearing people out.

Now, hold on here.  The very reason I show up to these meetings is to keep my mind open to possibilities, to hear people out.  But my mind, my intellect, my reason, thus far, tell me that things like past lives and “I talk to dead people” are all bullshit.

Here’s an example from my own life – when I was young, my father bought my mother this beautiful clock.  Westminster chimes, wind it up, the whole works.   At some point, the clock started acting up – not keeping time, not working properly.  My folks took it to a shop, they fixed it, but within weeks it was acting up again.  My father was a pretty handy guy, so he somehow figured out a trick to keep the clock running, which worked for years.  The trick only needed to be employed a few times a year to keep the clock going.  He even tried to teach me and my mother his little “trick”, but I could never pull it off.  To my knowledge, neither could my mother.

Shortly after father died, the clock stopped working and never would start again, no matter how much my mother worked at it.  For years, my mom and I believed that it was my father’s way of telling us he was still around.  This, of course, was a comforting belief to hold.  It wasn’t until a couple of years ago, after my mother died, that it struck me that the reason that the clock stopped working when he died was because he was the only one who knew how to fix the damned thing!  When he died, the knowledge of the clock died with him.

As I was telling this story to the metaphysical folks, I could see their eyes lighting up.  They were thinking, “See?  People do live on after death!”  But when I got to my realization, the light went out.

I guess I’m just someone who has a hard time taking things on faith.   Seeing is believing for me, not the other way around.  I can emotionally believe something, but I call that wishful thinking.  But, once again – I don’t rule out the improbable.  I’m just saying I haven’t seen it with my own eyes.  Certainly, I’ve had experiences that I can’t explain – yet.   But I’m just not ready to assign a quick, metaphysical answer to them.  I am, in this way, keeping my mind open to what the real answer is – an answer arrived at through thoughtful consideration, inquiry and logic, not jumping to the first emotionally satisfying “conclusion”.

A lot of people think that a world without some cosmic, metaphysical connection is depressing.  Well, all I have to say is, I would rather know, without any doubt, the cold hard truth than be comforted by something that is false.

2 Responses to “Is truly anything possible?”

  1. Mardé Says:

    Oh, I think you’re right, Minds, to be highly skeptical of those predestination believers. The thing about life is that it’s highly random, as you say, and we should be grateful for the luck we have, when things work out well for us. Life is miraculous in the sense of wonderful randomness.

    That’s interesting about those Westminster chimes and that they “died” with your father. But the obvious explanation fits the facts perfectly. Your Dad was the only one who knew how to fix the damned thing!

    My wife had an odd experience once in which she had this dream during a mid-afternoon nap of her aunt lying on the floor with blood at the corner of her mouth. It turned out that her aunt had in fact had a stroke, collapsed and died alone in her home that very afternoon. And she had blood at the corner of her mouth. Well, my wife could have been worried about her and may have dreamed this as a result, coincidentally near the time the aunt died. Coincidences do happen, and quite often.

    People have studied extrasensory perception for centuries and still there’s no definite proof that it exists. But we do get many charlatans, like that Uri Geller guy of fake spoon bending fame.

    Perhaps I am a broken record, but as I’ve said before, the real mysteries are not “magical” occurrences, which I don’t believe exist, but instead involve the one big mystery that is the world itself. Perhaps these meta physicians should try reading some of the world’s great philosophers. They could start with Plato and end with Heidegger. Now that would give them some food for thought! Not that I’m an expert on these guys by any means.

    Also, from your posts, I know you’ve read the “new atheists”, like Dawkins and Harris, which put a premium on rationality rather than metaphysical magic!


Leave a Reply

