Yes, I suppose we can.

November 6, 2008

Well, it looks like we managed to pull off the unthinkable.  I wasn’t sure the good ol’ U. S. of A. could do it, but we actually elected a black president.  Imagine that.

And I’m happy to say that I got off my NOTA horse long enough to cast my vote for the guy.  Because, when I stepped into that booth, what I realized is how much I didn’t want McCain/Palin to win the damned thing.

I even got choked up during his acceptance speech Tuesday night.

I know, I know, I sound like I’m going soft here – I’m not, really.  But something about the historical magnitude of this week’s election is really hitting me hard – not quite what I expected from myself.  During Obama’s acceptance speech, I really felt myself being inspired and proud to be a citizen of this country, in a very profound way – not in a flag-waving tailgate-party sort of way, but in a deeper sense of connection to an ideal, to a promise of things being better.

I thought McCain’s concession speech was very gracious, even in the face of his supporters booing rather loudly when McCain stated that Obama would, indeed, be our next president and that we should all support him.  It was a glimpse of the old McCain, the moderate and distinguished gentlemen that many more of us may have voted for if he hadn’t tried to appeal to the worst imbeciles of the Repug base by choosing the hick Barbie doll demagogue as his running mate.

I fear for Obama, though.  Even here in the back-woods blue state of Maine, we’re already seeing racist reactions to his election.  Kids like these are probably just repeating what their more insidiously racist parents are saying, and I think the school is right to step in – but I fear that 1st Amendment battles will start springing up everywhere.  “Is it not someone’s right to express their racism in a vocal way?” etc. etc.  I think we’re going to have to get used to this type of hair-splitting.

But, for now, I have to admit that I am looking forward with eagerness (and a healthy bit of usual skepticism – hey, I wouldn’t be me without it!) to an Obama presidency.

3 Responses to “Yes, I suppose we can.”

  1. Mardé Says:

    Good post, Minds! I knew you’d come around in the end, for Obama! But I agree too that you need a healthy bit of skepticism. He’s done beautifully well so far but being president is of course a wholly different game, and the pressure on him will be immense. I just hope he doesn’t become an incrementalist, like the Clintons. The times call for big, swooping changes! He’s gotta deliver!

  2. mindserased Says:

    Well, he can deliver as far as all branches of government will allow. Of course, he’s got Dem majority all around, so that doesn’t hurt. Part of me is biting my knuckles and bracing for a big letdown, and part of me is keeping fingers crossed and buying into the vision of his speech writers. You’re right, he’s gotta deliver, but will he? All we can do is wait.

  3. Mardé Says:

    That’s right, Minds, all we can do is wait. I just read two excellent articles on Obama, here and here.


Leave a Reply

