No confidence = no vote.

October 4, 2008

I think it’s official, folks – none of the bastards are getting my vote this fall. 

I can’t believe that these fuckers who are supposed to be REPRESENTING us – the 75% of us who categorically rejected this bailout in polls – actually pushed this bailout bill through in record time.  My blood pressure has been sky-high all day long.  It’s clear to me now that it doesn’t or won’t matter a damn WHO is elected – because, no matter who it is – Democrap or Repug – they will do whatever the fuck they feel like doing, whatever the mighty dollar and the lobby of this interest or that instructs them to do – and all of it will be over the backs of us poor working class stiffs.  No matter who is president, there will be bullshit wars, bullshit deficits, bullshit shortages in money for things that matter the most – healthcare, education, etc. etc.  Obama is a good talker, but that’s ALL he is.  He would’ve gotten my vote if I’d decided that the whole “democratic” system was even worthy of my participation.  But I can’t vote for anyone who, for example, urged support of this 700 billion dollar fleecing of Main St., and who also categorically opposes things like gay marriage.  I would expect as much from a neo-con like McCain, but Obama?  What is it about blacks and gays?  Why can’t they commiserate and share in each others’ struggles?   Does he really believe that marriage is for people with different private parts, or is he just saying that because many people think that, too, and he’s just looking for votes?  Either way, it’s despicable, and he doesn’t deserve my vote.  Whatever.  I’m done.  I’ve had it.  Actually, I probably WILL show up to vote – but it will be to check off the empty boxes and write NONE OF THE ABOVE in huge block letters (as big as the little golf pencil will allow, anyway). 

I apologize that this is not the most coherent of my posts – but I had to get this out of me in one fell swoop with no editing, or I wasn’t going to get it out at all.   I want to hear from others out there who are as fed up as me.    I think WE are the ones who will make a difference – not these assholes who are begging for our precious votes.

2 Responses to “No confidence = no vote.”

  1. Mardé Says:

    You know, Minds, if you put that anger and energy into trying to make the world a better place, and not assuming that THEY ARE ALL BAD, you could accomplish a lot. The bailout thing is very complex. It’s generally bad but things could be worse. I’ve been following Paul Krugman, an economist who I assume understands what’s going on better than I do. I don’t just assume he’s BAD for very reluctantly saying it’s better to pass the bill than not. Others disagree, like Mike Michaud, our congressman who maybe you could bring yourself to vote for because he voted NO twice on the bailout bill. Me? I’m trying to figure out what’s going on. I believe things are not either all black or all white. I believe the perfect is the enemy of the good, not that the bailout bill is good. As far as Obama not favoring gay marriage, he has to get elected. There are a number of other things I’m sure you disapprove of in Obama, but again, the perfect is the enemy of the good. You are NEVER EVER going to get any politician that you would agree with. In the meantime, the world goes on in its merry and inscrutable ways. It’s far more complex than you give it credit for……. But that’s OK. It’s good to have people who adhere to their principles, live or die, just like the ancient Christians who were tossed to the lions. But I’m too chicken, and also admit I don’t understand everything.


  2. Please consider my campaign as a write-in candidate. Even if you don’t vote for me, I would suggest going to the voting station, closing the curtain, and not voting for anybody. If enough people did this, maybe the powers that be will get the message and we can get electable candidates.


Leave a Reply

