For the record.

June 10, 2008

From the sounds of my posts, y’all probably think I’m some hedonistic, sex-crazed dope fiend.

Nothing could be further from the truth.

In fact, I am in a committed relationship (nearly 6 years now!) and have never strayed, not in this relationship or in any others I’ve had – maybe in my mind, a la Jimmy Carter, but never in the flesh.

As for drugs, I’ve been clean and sober for 11 years. Not even a cup of joe.

I just have very very strong opinions. But, as my old man used to say, “Opinions are like assholes – everyone’s got one and they all stink.”

I’ll have more meaningful posts up soon. Right now, I’m too busy reading the new David Sedaris.

5 Responses to “For the record.”

  1. Mardé Says:

    Way to go, Minds. I had a suspicion you weren’t a hedonist. And I bet you’re not an asshole either, even though you do have strong opinions. Your old man must be quite a clown. I bet he has strong opinions!

  2. mindserased Says:

    My old man is dead and gone now. He isn’t anything anymore. He was pretty damned funny, and he wasn’t an asshole.

  3. Mardé Says:

    Hey, Minds, I bet your old man was a great guy, with a wicked sense of humor, and I would have loved to have met him.

  4. Mardé Says:

    Forgot to congratulate you, Minds, on your steadfastness to principle. Your behavior supports the view that moral principles do not require a God, but can be inherently human. In other words, it’s possible to be an atheist and have principles of loyalty and respect for the individual and society while at the same time not preaching to them but tolerating behavior as long as that behavior does not hurt others. Is that it? If so, sounds good to me.

  5. mindserased Says:

    Mardé, you hit the nail on the head. You’ve made my point exactly. Glad you’re pickin’ up what I’m puttin’ down.


Leave a Reply

