Choice? Give me a break.

May 20, 2008

Do you know any 12 year old kid going through puberty, attending public school, who would choose to be attracted to the kids that he has to shower with after gym class?  Would anyone really choose that kind of invitation to abuse and ridicule?

The next time you’re talking to one of these Jeezly evangelicals, and they get all up in your face about how sexual orientation is a “choice”, just look at ’em and say, “Is that so?  And how was it for you when you made your choice?”

To be continued.

3 Responses to “Choice? Give me a break.”

  1. Mardé Says:

    Right! Minds, you have an avid reader who keeps me informed whenever you post a new post. But for some reason she never makes comments on your blog. Must be shy, I guess. Anyway, I’m not shy — outgrew that.

    Anyway, yes, remembering back when I was a teenager taking showers with other boys after athletic events, I would be embarrassed even looking at private parts. Part of me had a certain fascination, but I would never let on. Yes, I would have been ridiculed right away, even beaten up, if I had lunged for or even showed interest in another boy’s private parts or body. So, there must be a profound drive in those who are attracted to the same sex’s genital organs, or bodies in general. “Yuk!”, my friends would say.

    No, I would never dare do it even if I had the urge, which I didn’t. I think this is the point you were making.

  2. Aileni Noyle Says:

    By some flook, I am trailing Mardé around your posts.Well, he has good taste.
    I avoided communal deals like showers because I would always develop an erection.
    I have been ecstatically married for 35 years and we have five children – just to set the record straight – but I did go through a homosexual phase before marriage.
    It isn’t a question of ‘choice’ – it is ‘drive’.

  3. mindserased Says:

    Aileni, it’s refreshing to see people like you being unabashedly honest about the reality of the “drive” of their sexuality, as you put it – and that’s precisely what it is, isn’t it?


Leave a Reply

